The Grand Budapest Hotel Trailer Review

Video Posted on

I have not seen much of Wes Anderson’s work. In fact I have only seen one film of his. I have seen Moonrise Kingdom which I did enjoy but I understand it is not a typical Hollywood film. I am not sure I would call it non Hollywood American Cinema. I really don’t know what you would call it really. Moonrise Kingdom was very stylish and to my knowledge Anderson designs almost every aspect of the film. He picks out the colour schemes of clothing to the pattern of the wallpaper in every scene. I feel that this is an interesting thing for a director to do but seems to be slightly redundant. Anderson has to do this for himself and no one else. I am sure the audience will appreciate small snippets of individualism in every shot, however audiences are passive and will miss a great deal of it and generally not appreciate it.

The film has a fantastic cast and I am surprised that so many famous and well respected actors are in this film. Many have worked with Anderson before but I am surprised so many of these actors like his work enough to star in his films. The film stars Ralph Fiennes, Saorise Ronan, F. Murray Abraham, Adrien Brody. Willem Dafoe, Harvey Keitel, Bill Murray, Tilda Swinton, Jude Law, Tom Wilkinson, Jeff Goldblum, Ed Norton, Jason Swchwartman, Owen Wilson. Anderson has always been able to get big names to star in his films but I worry that Anderson may just do this in an attempt to attract audiences. If a film has a large cast of well known actors it will attract audiences but that may be an attempt to cover up poor story. I don’t think this will be the case but I understand that Anderson’s films are for a niche market so having well known actors is simply an attempt to attract larger audiences and nothing more.

Overall the film does seem to have a lot of humor in the trailer and I feel that it will be something for film fans to check out. I do not think this film will get a massive release because it is a niche film and will likely only get attention from awards season. As always I need to see the film before I make a decision about the film. I will not judge a film by its trailer, well not all the time. The trailer does make me want to see this and I will go to the cinema if it is released but if not I would still like to check it out at some point.

What do you think of the trailer? Please comment and thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

