Westerns On The Rise

Posted on

Image

The Western has been one of my favorite genres for a long time. I have loved watching some of the classic westerns from the 40s, 50s and 60s. They are so appealing to me. I was born in the 90s so it is odd that I would like a classic genre which has not been explored that much in recent years. However it looks like this may change.

Quentin Tarantino’s latest film Django Unchained has rebooted the western genre in a way. I think many people who have watched this will now go back and watch so many of the great westerns that inspired the film. Unfortunately Django Unchained is not a flawless western. It contains so many other elements in it, that it almost betrays the genre. But please do not get me wrong. I loved Django Unchained. It was a fantastic film but it contained too many sub genres to be a focused classic western.

I felt the animation Rango hit the mark more as a homage to the western genre. Rango despite being an animation it was really entertaining and contained so many references to some classic westerns. Django in a way missed the mark with the references. Rather than be a homage to westerns it did is own thing. Like I said I still love the film but I felt that Rango captured what a western was more than Django Uncahined.

Image

The Lone Ranger is also due to be released soon. This is a Disney production and is the same director as Rango. Therefore I feel this will be a worthy film to see. However if it is targeted at children it may miss the mark. Rango was subtle enough whereas The Lone Ranger may try to hard.

Overall though I do hope to see more westerns made. I would rather them be filmed the classic way rather than using modern technology. Because most westerns are now dated along with the film making technology, the way the film looks may be part of the genre itself. I would rather see a grainier image than the highest quality when making a new western. I however may be the only one who thinks this but I feel modern westerns miss the mark because of how they look.

2 thoughts on “Westerns On The Rise

    lovepirate77 said:
    July 3, 2013 at 3:56 pm

    I would love for the western to make a comeback, but I’m worried with the poor reviews that The Lone Ranger is getting that this might kill off the western for the foreseeable future. I agree completely that Django was only somewhat a western, and that Rango was far better in terms of fitting within the genre. If you’re looking for a good, fairly recent western, I recommend Open Range from about a decade ago. Good article!

      thomasroach2008 responded:
      July 3, 2013 at 4:14 pm

      Thanks for reading glad you liked it. I will check out Open Range. I have heard of it but I never got round to seeing it.

Leave a Reply

